comprehend hunger through imagery

Jehad Nga’s Polaroids: From the Series Photojournalism at the Crossroads

Photojournalism at the Crossroads is a series from Lightbox that takes a closer look at how photographers are creatively revisiting traditional ways of image making or using the latest digital technology to revitalize the genre and reach a wider audience. For a series of pirate portraits he made in Somalia, photographer Jehad Nga used Polaroid film. “It became clear that I would finally be traveling to Hobyo, Somalia, to meet major players in the piracy trade,” recounts Nga, “so I started to think. This was a group of men and an area of the country that I had yet to familiarize myself with. I knew it was one of the more important trips I would be taking to Somalia in my five years of working in the country.” Read more: http://lightbox.time.com/2010/12/29/photojournalism-at-the-crossroads-4-jehad-ngas-polaroids/#ixzz1Vsp9lIWu

Leave a Reply

